Amber Asylum


Amber Asylum is a highly variable San Francisco-based music group that serves as a platform for composer, singer, and multi-instrumentalist Kris Force. The current lineup of Amber Asylum includes, in addition to Kris Force, Fern Lee Alberts (Deathgrave), Sarah Rosalena Brady and Becky Hawk (Laudanum). Other members and performers have included Steve Von Till (Neurosis), Annabel Lee, Martha Burns, long-time collaborator Jackie Perez Gratz (Grayceon/Giant Squid/Asunder), Erica Stoltz (Lost Goat, Sanhedrin), Wendy Farina, Lorraine Rath (The Gault/Worm Ouroboros), Sarah Schaffer (The Gault/Weakling), John Cobbet (Hammers of Misfortune/Ludicra, Vhol), Eric Wood (Man Is The Bastard, Bastard Noise), Leila Abdul-Rauf (Saros, Vastum, Hammers of Misfortune, Bastard Noise, Ionophore), Chiyo Nukaga (Noothgrush/Graves At Sea), Andrew Veskoukis (Akphaezya) and Sigrid Sheie (Hammers of Misfortune, Vhol).
Amber Asylum’s music is generally within the neoclassical or dark ambient genres, and it tends towards the romantic, introspective, and brooding. Violin and cello are the dominant instruments.