Heroes & Villains


Survivor: Heroes vs. Villains is the twentieth season of the American CBS competitive reality television series Survivor. It premiered on February 11, 2010 with a special two-hour episode. It was the show’s fourth season to feature contestants from past seasons, after Survivor: All-Stars, Survivor: Guatemala, and Survivor: Micronesia, and was only the second season to feature a cast consisting entirely of returning players, after All-Stars. The season was filmed in Upolu, Samoa. The complete season, including the pre-season “Surviving Survivor” special and live reunion show, was released on DVD exclusively through Amazon.com on February 22, 2011. It was initially released as a 10-disc package, but was later reissued condensed into 5 discs. Special features include full exit interviews and Ponderosa webisodes which were available to watch on http://www.cbs.com .
The twenty contestants were initially divided into two tribes based on their prior reputation in their previous seasons, Heroes and Villains. When ten players remained, the two tribes merged and named their new tribe “Yin Yang.” After 39 days, Sandra Diaz-Twine became the first two-time Survivor winner, defeating Parvati Shallow and Russell Hantz with a vote of 6–3–0. Despite receiving zero jury votes, Hantz was voted by fans to win “Sprint Player of the Season” award for the second consecutive season and the $100,000 prize that went with it, earning the fans’ vote over runner-up Rupert Boneham. Additionally, Hantz received a nomination in the 2010 Teen Choice Awards for his performance on this season.